top of page




An opera in six scenes for orchestra, chorus & soloists,

based on William Hogarth’s pictures.


Libretto by Peter Ackroyd

Commissioned by Theater an der Wien

First Performance 13th October 2013

dir. Jens-Daniel Herzog

cond. Mikko Franck

"...a soul-devouring

 juggernaut."- Der Standard

"...cinematic, dramatic, thrilling...Bell knows no fear."- Kurier​                    


Moll Hackabout // Diana Damrau    

Kitty // Tara Erraught

Mother Needham // Marie McLaughlin

James Dalton // Nathan Gunn

Mister Lovelace // Christopher Gillett

Coachman|Officer|Jailer // Nicolas Testé

Photo © Werner Kmetitsch

"...huge applause and cries of bravo for Bell and his work."- Kronen

bottom of page